If you need a more accessible version of this website, click this button on the right. Switch to Accessible Site

WARNING

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Close [x]

Follow Us

 

Florida's Auto Injury PIP Lawflorida's auto injury pip law at dunedin fl chiropractor

Raveling Chiropractic Center Provides Services Under Florida’s Auto Injury PIP Law

It is important for anyone that has been involved in an auto accident to get the care and support they need. In many cases, our team at Raveling Chiropractic Center can help to improve mobility, reduce pain, and improve the overall quality of life. Yet, many people don’t know what their options and rights are. It’s essential to understand Florida’s auto injury PIP law and what it may mean for your care.

What Is Florida’s Auto Injury PIP Law?

In 2013, Florida’s auto injury PIP law changed. In the state, drivers must have at least $10,000 in PIP coverage or Personal Injury Protection. Having this coverage allows the driver to obtain the medical care he or she needs if they are involved in an auto accident and injured as a result. This includes incidents in which the driver is at fault. However, there are some specific areas of concern drivers need to understand.

First, individuals that are hurt in car accidents have just two weeks, or 14 days to obtain their initial treatment under this law. If you’ve been hurt in an auto accident, you simply must act right away to obtain care for those injuries or you may lose the right to the coverage available to you. If you wait after those two weeks to obtain the care you need you will only be able to collect $2500 from this PIP policy.

If you let 14 days pass from the date of the accident, you are only given $2500 in coverage instead of the $10,000 that was originally in place. If you have serious injuries, which many people facing car accidents do, it is possible to obtain additional coverage up to that limit of $10,000. It may also be necessary for patients to obtain certifications of injuries to obtain additional care from other care providers.

The goal of the law changes was to reduce costs associated with PIP coverage. However, this new law puts a great deal of weight on the shoulders of today’s car accident sufferer.

What You Need to Do to Get Care

If you’ve been in an auto accident, seek out medical care right away. It is very common for individuals not to realize they have injuries or ailments right after the incident occurs. Don’t wait. Instead, go in for a full physical after the incident occurs. And, even if you check out okay initially, be sure to pay attention to your body in the days following the accident. It is very common for injuries to present after adrenaline wears off, which can take some time. If you feel aches and pains, don’t wait for those to heal. See out care.

Contact Our Dunedin Chiropractor Today

Let the team at Raveling Chiropractic Center help you. In Dunedin chiropractic care from Dr. Paul Raveling is available to you. Even if you are unsure if you need help, contact our offices for an exam and treatment. You can schedule a consultation by calling 727-733-0433 today. Let us help you stay safe and take advantage of your rights under PIP law.